Meet the Board


The Hon.
Mark Vaile AO

Chairman and Non-executive Director
Appointed: 3 May 2012

As Deputy Prime Minister of Australia and Leader of the National Party from 2005 to 2007, Mark established an extensive network of contacts throughout Australia and East Asia. His focus at home was with regional Australia and particularly northern NSW. As one of Australia’s longest serving Trade Ministers from 1999 through until 2006, Mark led negotiations which resulted in Free Trade Agreements being concluded with the United States of America, Singapore and Thailand as well as launching negotiations with China, Japan and ASEAN. Importantly, early in his Ministerial career as the Minister for Transport and Regional Services, Mark was instrumental in the establishment of the ARTC which operates the Hunter Valley rail network.

Mark brings significant experience as a company director, having been Chairman of Aston Resources and CBD Energy Limited, and is currently an independent Director on the boards of Virgin Australia Limited and Servcorp Limited which are both listed on the ASX. Mark is also a Director of Stamford Land Corp which is listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange, a Director Trustee of HostPlus Superfund, Chairman of Palisade Regional Infrastructure Fund and Independent Director and Chairman of SmartTrans Limited.


John C Conde AO
BSc, BE (Electrical) (Hons), MBA (Dist)

Deputy Chairman andNon-executive Director
Appointed: 3 May 2007

John has over 30 years of broad based commercial experience across a number of industries, including the energy sector, and was chairman of the company prior to the merger with Aston Resources. John is chairman of Bupa Australia and New Zealand, Cooper Energy Limited and The McGrath Foundation. He is also president of the Commonwealth Remuneration Tribunal and a non-executive director of the Dexus Property Group. He retired as chairman of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra in May 2015. He was previously chairman of Ausgrid (formerly Energy Australia) and Destination NSW. He was formerly chairman and managing director of Broadcast Investment Holdings, as well as a non-executive director of BHP Billiton Limited and Excel Coal Limited.


Dr Julie Beeby
BSc (Hons I), PhD (Physical Chemistry), MBA, FAICD

Non-executive Director
Appointed: 17 July 2015

Julie has more than 25 years’ experience in the minerals and petroleum industries in Australia including major Australian and US resources companies and as Chief Executive Officer of WestSide Corporation, an ASX listed, Queensland- based coal seam gas company. Julie has technical, operations and strategy expertise and has held senior and executive positions in coal mining, mining services and coal seam gas after commencing her career in coal and mineral processing research.

Julie is currently the Chairman of the Queensland Electricity Transmission Corporation Limited, Powerlink Queensland, and non-executive director of OZ Minerals Limited. Julie has previously held non-executive director positions on the Boards of Gloucester Coal Limited, Forge Group Limited, CRC Mining, Queensland Resources Council and Australian Coal Research.


Paul Flynn
BComm, FCA

Managing Director
Appointed: 25 March 2013

Previously Non-executive Director
Appointed: 3 May 2012

Paul has extensive experience in the mining, infrastructure, construction and energy sectors gained through 20 years as a professional advisor at Ernst & Young. Paul was formerly Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Tinkler Group and was instrumental in the merger of Whitehaven Coal with Aston Resources. Paul joined the Board of Whitehaven on 3 May 2012 and assumed the role of Managing Director and CEO on 27 March 2013. Prior to joining the Tinkler Group, Paul was the managing partner of Ernst & Young’s Sydney office and a member of its Oceania executive team.

As a partner for over eight years, Paul managed many of the firm’s largest mining and energy clients across Australia, Asia, South and North America. Paul has also fulfilled various leadership roles with large corporations on secondment including as the CFO of a top 50 listed company.


Tony Haggarty

Non-executive Director
from 25 March 2013
Previously Managing Director
to 24 March 2013
Appointed: 3 May 2007

Tony has over 30 years’ experience in the development, management and financing of mining companies, and was co-founder and Managing Director of Excel Coal Limited from 1993 to 2006. Prior to this, Tony worked for BP Coal and BP Finance in Sydney and London, and for Agipcoal as the Managing Director of its Australian subsidiary. Tony was appointed to the Board of Whitehaven on 3 May 2007 and was appointed Managing Director on 17 October 2008 until 27 March 2013.


Christine McLoughlin
BA, LLB (Honours), FAICD

Non-executive Director
Appointed: 3 May 2012

Christine has more than 25 years’ experience working in diverse and highly regulated sectors in Australia, UK and South-East Asian markets. Christine has expertise in strategy, risk, stakeholder engagement and human resources in industries including financial services, telecommunications, health and nuclear science. Christine is currently a Director of Suncorp Group Limited, nib holdings ltd and Chairman of Venues NSW. She was formerly Chairman of the Australian Payments Council and a former Director of the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation (ANSTO), the Victorian Transport Accident Commission and Westpac insurance companies in Australia and New Zealand.


Raymond Zage
BSc Finance

Non-executive Director
Appointed: 27 August 2013

Raymond is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Farallon Capital Asia, which is responsible for investing capital in Asia on behalf of Farallon Capital Management, one of the largest alternative asset managers in the world. Raymond has been involved in investments throughout Asia in various industries including financial services, infrastructure, manufacturing, energy and real estate. Previously, Raymond was in the investment banking division of Goldman, Sachs & Co. in Singapore, New York and Los Angeles.